Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Unclaimed Property Laws And Gift Cards

Some states require merchants to turn over the value of unused gift cards after a specified amount of time. While the most consumer friendly states do not consider gift cards as unclaimed property, several states specifically include gift cards; other states remain unclear.

ScripSmart believes gift cards should never be considered unclaimed property because of their nature as gifts and a state's inability to know where a gift cardholder resides at the time the property is considered unclaimed.

State Quick Summary

Alabama

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Alabama

Alaska

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of Alaska after 3 years

Arizona

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Arizona

Arkansas

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Arkansas

California

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of California

Colorado

  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years of inactivity

Connecticut

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Connecticut

Delaware

  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years of inactivity

District of Columbia

  • Value will escheat to the state 5 years after the card's expiration

Federal

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Federal

Florida

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Florida

Georgia

  • Value will escheat to state after 5 years

Hawaii

  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years of inactivity

Idaho

  • Only cards with an expiration date not displayed on the card escheat to the State of Idaho after 5 years

Illinois

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of Illinois after 5 years

Indiana

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Indiana

Iowa

  • Value will escheat to state after 3 years

Kansas

  • Gift card escheatment details are not specified

Kentucky

  • Gift card escheatment details are not specified

Louisiana

  • After 3 years from purchase date, the value will escheat to the state on December 31st

Maine

  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years of inactivity

Maryland

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Maryland

Massachusetts

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Massachusetts

Michigan

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Michigan

Minnesota

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Minnesota

Mississippi

  • Value will escheat to state after 5 years

Missouri

  • Gift card escheatment details are not specified

Montana

  • After 3 years from purchase date, the value will escheat to the state on December 31st

Nebraska

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of Nebraska after 3 years

Nevada

  • Value will escheat to the state when the gift card expires

New Hampshire

  • Gift card sold above $100 escheat to the State of New Hampshire after 5 years

New Jersey

  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years from date of purchase

New Mexico

  • After 5 years from purchase date, the value will escheat to the state on December 31st

New York

  • Value will escheat to state after 5 years

North Carolina

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of North Carolina after 3 years

North Dakota

  • Value will escheat to the state after 3 years of inactivity

Ohio

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Ohio

Oklahoma

  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years of inactivity

Oregon

  • Gift card escheatment details are not specified

Outside U.S.

  • Gift card escheatment details are not specified

Pennsylvania

  • Only cards with an expiration date and/or post-sale fees escheat to the State of Pennsylvania after 2 years

Rhode Island

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Rhode Island

South Carolina

  • Gift card escheatment details are not specified

South Dakota

  • Value will escheat to state after 5 years

Tennessee

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of Tennessee after 2 years

Texas

  • Only cards with an expiration date and/or post-sale fees escheat to the State of Texas after 3 years

Utah

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Utah

Vermont

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Vermont

Virginia

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of Virginia after 5 years

Washington

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of Washington after 3 years

West Virginia

  • After 3 years from purchase date, the value will escheat to the state on December 31st

Wisconsin

  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Wisconsin

Wyoming

  • Gift card sold above $100 escheat to the State of Wyoming after 3 years
Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information is accurate and up-to-date. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.
Report an error