Gift Card Ratings

Washington Gift Card Law

Last updated on January 05, 2012


What we like:

  • No expiration dates allowed
  • Gift cards are redeemable for cash if value is $4.99 or less
  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of Washington after 3 years
  • Washington has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • Washington has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state
  • Merchant must continue to accept gift cards while in bankruptcy

What could be better:

  • A $1.00 monthly fee may be charged after the balance is $5.00 or less and the card has been inactive for at least 2 years and the card is reloadable
  • Washington does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Washington Gift Card Law:

Bank Cards, Cards donated to a charity, Free loyalty/promotional cards

Good to know for Washington residents:

If your charged a dormancy or inactivity fee, the remaining value of the gift certificate is redeemable in cash on demand.

Last change in Washington State law took effect on July 1, 2004

Washington Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Rob McKenna (R)
Contact Form
Phone: 1-360-753-6200

Helpful Links: