Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

New Jersey Gift Card Law

Last updated on September 05, 2012
100x100_red_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

    Gift cards are redeemable for cash if value is $4.99 or less
  • New Jersey has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • New Jersey has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state
  • Any expiration or fees must be disclosed in at least 10 point font on either the gift card, sales receipt or packaging of such card and a telephone number must be included for inquiry of such information.

What could be better:

  • Gift cards may expire 2 years from purchase date
  • A $2.00 monthly fee may be charged after 2 years of inactivity.
  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years from date of purchase
  • New Jersey does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form New Jersey Gift Card Law:

Free loyalty/promotional cards, Phone Cards, Technology Cards

Good to know for New Jersey residents:

For gift cards sold after August 31, 2012: merchants must gift cash refunds upon demand if the balance of the card is less than $5.00 and it has been used at least once.

Beginning December 1st, 2012 gift cards may not be sold with fees or expiration dates.

Beginning July 1, 2016 merchants will be required to collect zip codes of those who purchase gift cards.

New Jersey Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Jeffrey S. Chiesa
Contact Form
Phone: 1-609-292-8740
http://www.state.nj.us/lps/

Helpful Links: