Gift Card Ratings

Idaho Gift Card Law

Last updated on April 14, 2010


What we like:

  • Only cards with an expiration date not displayed on the card escheat to the State of Idaho after 5 years
  • Idaho has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state
  • Gift cards valued at $50.00 or less do not escheat to the state

What could be better:

  • No limits on expiration dates
  • No maximum post-sale fee or minimum time frame before charging monthly fees
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • No legal definition of a gift card or gift certificate
  • Idaho does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

Idaho Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Lawrence Wasden (R)
Contact Form
Phone: 1-208-334-2400

Helpful Links: