Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Maine Gift Card Law

Last updated on January 05, 2012
100x100_green_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • No expiration dates or post-sale fees allowed
  • Gift cards are redeemable for cash if value is $4.99 or less
  • Maine has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • Maine has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state

What could be better:

  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years of inactivity
  • Maine does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Maine Gift Card Law:

Bank Cards

Good to know for Maine residents:

Bank Issued Gift Cards escheat to the state after 3 years.


Last change in Maine State law took effect on November 1, 2008

Maine Attorney General Information

Attorney General: William J. Schneider (R)
Contact Form
Phone: 1-207-626-8800
http://www.maine.gov/ag/

Helpful Links: