Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Kansas Gift Card Law

Last updated on January 03, 2011
100x100_red_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • Kansas has legally defined the notion of a gift card

What could be better:

  • Gift cards may expire 5 years from purchase date
  • Post-sale fees of any amount may be charged 1 year after date of purchase.
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • Gift card escheatment details are not specified
  • Kansas does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Kansas Gift Card Law:

Bank Cards, Cards sold at a discount to employers or non-profits for fund raising purposes, Free loyalty/promotional cards

Kansas Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Steve Six (D)
cprotect@ksag.org
Phone: 1-785-296-2215
http://www.ksag.org/home/

Helpful Links: