Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

North Carolina Gift Card Law

Last updated on April 19, 2011
100x100_red_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of North Carolina after 3 years
  • North Carolina has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • North Carolina has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state

What could be better:

  • No limits on expiration dates
  • Post-sale fees of any amount may be charged 1 year after date of purchase.
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • North Carolina does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form North Carolina Gift Card Law:

Bank Cards

North Carolina Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Roy Cooper (D)
Contact Form
Phone: 1-919-716-6400
http://www.ncdoj.gov/

Helpful Links: