Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Nevada Gift Card Law

Last updated on March 14, 2011
100x100_red_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • Nevada has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • Nevada has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state
  • Any expiration date or fees must be printed plainly and conspicuously on the front or back of the instrument or record. An expiration date may be excluded if a toll free number is printed on the card. All notices must be at least 10 point font.

What could be better:

  • No limits on expiration dates
  • A $1.00 monthly fee may be charged 1 year after date of purchase.
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • Value will escheat to the state when the gift card expires
  • Nevada does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Nevada Gift Card Law:

Bank Cards, Free loyalty/promotional cards, Phone Cards, Technology Cards

Nevada Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Catherine Cortez Masto (D)
Contact Form
Phone: 1-775-684-1100
http://ag.state.nv.us/

Helpful Links: