Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Louisiana Gift Card Law

Last updated on March 30, 2011
100x100_yellow_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • Post-sale fees not allowed
  • Maximum purchase fee allowed is $1.00 per card
  • Louisiana offers a consumer-centric gift card law webpage
  • Louisiana has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • Louisiana has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state
  • Any expiration date must appear in capital letters, in at least ten-point font on the gift card.

What could be better:

  • Gift cards may expire 5 years from purchase date
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • After 3 years from purchase date, the value will escheat to the state on December 31st

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Louisiana Gift Card Law:

Cards donated to a charity, Cards Purchased Less Than Face Value, Free loyalty/promotional cards

Louisiana Attorney General Information

Attorney General: James D. "Buddy" Caldwell (D)
ConsumerInfo@ag.state.la.us
Phone: 1-225-326-6000
http://www.ag.state.la.us/

Helpful Links: