Gift Card Ratings

Oklahoma Gift Card Law

Last updated on April 27, 2011


What we like:

  • Oklahoma has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • Oklahoma has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state
  • Any fees must be disclosed in 10 point font on the gift card and be visible prior to purchase

What could be better:

  • Gift cards may expire 5 years from purchase date
  • A $1.00 monthly fee may be charged after the balance is $5.00 or less and the card has been inactive for at least 2 years and the card is reloadable
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years of inactivity
  • Oklahoma does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Oklahoma Gift Card Law:

Cards with an expiration less than 31 days sold at a discount to employers or charitable organizations, Food Product Cards, Free loyalty/promotional cards

Oklahoma Attorney General Information

Attorney General: W. A. Drew Edmondson (D)
Phone: 1-405-521-3921

Helpful Links: