Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Oregon Gift Card Law

Last updated on November 22, 2013
100x100_green_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • No expiration dates or post-sale fees allowed
  • Gift cards are redeemable for cash if value is $4.99 or less
  • Oregon offers a consumer-centric gift card law webpage
  • Oregon has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • Oregon has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state
  • Any expiration must be shown in at least 10-point type, with the words "EXPIRES ON" or "EXPIRATION DATE" followed by the date

What could be better:

  • Gift card escheatment details are not specified

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Oregon Gift Card Law:

Bank Cards, Cards Purchased Less Than Face Value, Mobile Radio Cards, Phone Cards

Good to know for Oregon residents:

Effective January 1, 2012, gift cards sold must be redeemable for cash if the balance is less than $5 has been used for at least one purchase. Cards sold below face value can expire if they have an expiration date greater than 30 days and it's printed on the card in 10 point font.

Oregon Attorney General Information

Attorney General: John Kroger (D)
consumer.hotline@doj.state.or.us
Phone: 1-503-378-4732
http://www.doj.state.or.us/

Helpful Links: