Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Delaware Gift Card Law

Last updated on March 18, 2011
100x100_red_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • Delaware has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state

What could be better:

  • No limits on expiration dates
  • No maximum post-sale fee or minimum time frame before charging monthly fees
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • No legal definition of a gift card or gift certificate
  • Value will escheat to the state after 5 years of inactivity
  • Delaware does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

Good to know for Delaware residents:

If the expiration date is less than 5 years, the value of the card will escheat to the state upon expiration.

Delaware Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Joseph R. "Beau" Biden, III (D)
Attorney.General@State.DE.US
Phone: (302) 577-8338
http://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/