Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Tennessee Gift Card Law

Last updated on April 07, 2012
100x100_yellow_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • Only cards with an expiration date escheat to the State of Tennessee after 2 years
  • Tennessee has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • Tennessee has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state

What could be better:

  • Gift cards may expire 2 years from purchase date
  • Post-sale fees of any amount may be charged 2 years after date of purchase.
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • Tennessee does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Tennessee Gift Card Law:

Bank Cards, Cards sold at a discount to employers or non-profits for fund raising purposes, Cards sold by a charitable organization for fundraising purposes, Employee Incentive Cards (Employeer must be the Issuer), Free loyalty/promotional cards, Phone Cards

Good to know for Tennessee residents:

If a gift card is sold without an expiration date, a gift certificate is valid until redeemed or replaced with a new card.

Tennessee Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Robert E. Cooper, Jr. (D)
Phone: 1-615-741-3491
http://www.tn.gov/attorneygeneral

Helpful Links: