Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

Vermont Gift Card Law

Last updated on June 12, 2012
100x100_yellow_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • Post-sale fees not allowed
  • Gift cards are redeemable for cash if value is $0.99 or less
  • Gift cards do not escheat to the State of Vermont
  • Vermont has legally defined the notion of a gift card
  • Vermont has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state

What could be better:

  • Gift cards may expire 5 years from purchase date
  • Vermont does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form Vermont Gift Card Law:

Cards donated to a charity, Cards for seasonal recreation activity admission, Food Product Cards, Free loyalty/promotional cards, Phone Cards

Good to know for Vermont residents:

If your gift card expires, the merchant is required to provide the unused portion of the gift certificate, upon request. Bank Issued card may not charge a one time purchase fee not more than 10 percent of the face amount purchased or added or $10.00. While Vermont code does not specifically exclude gift cards in any sections code, it is the intent of the legislature, by not mentioning them, to exempt them.

Vermont Attorney General Information

Attorney General: William H. Sorrell (D)
consumerquestion@atg.state.vt.us
Phone: 1-828-828-3173
http://www.atg.state.vt.us/

Helpful Links: