Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

West Virginia Gift Card Law

Last updated on March 01, 2012
100x100_red_badge_word

Rating

What we like:

  • West Virginia has legally specified whether or not gift cards escheat to the state

What could be better:

  • No limits on expiration dates
  • No maximum post-sale fee or minimum time frame before charging monthly fees
  • Merchants are not required to give cash back
  • No legal definition of a gift card or gift certificate
  • After 3 years from purchase date, the value will escheat to the state on December 31st
  • West Virginia does not maintain a consumer-centric web page dedicated to gift card laws

Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information accurate. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.

Report an error

The following types of gift cards are excluded form West Virginia Gift Card Law:

Cards given away for free, Cards with an expiration less than 31 days sold at a discount to employers or charitable organizations, Free loyalty/promotional cards

West Virginia Attorney General Information

Attorney General: Darrell V. McGraw, Jr. (D)
Phone: 1-304-558-2021
http://www.wvago.gov/

Helpful Links: