Scripsmart_logo_web
Gift Card Ratings
Best-gift-certificate-software

States With Gift Card Cash Back Laws

Did you know? You may be able to receive cash back for the remaining balance of your gift card even if it's not the merchant's standard practice. Several states have enacted laws requiring merchants to provide cash (or check) upon request.
State When you can ask for cash back

California Gift Card Law

When the balance is $9.99 or less

Colorado Gift Card Law

When the balance is $5.00 or less

Maine Gift Card Law

When the balance is $4.99 or less

Montana Gift Card Law

When the balance is $4.99 or less

New Jersey Gift Card Law

When the balance is $4.99 or less

Oregon Gift Card Law

When the balance is $4.99 or less

Rhode Island Gift Card Law

When the balance is $0.99 or less

Vermont Gift Card Law

When the balance is $0.99 or less

Washington Gift Card Law

When the balance is $4.99 or less

Massachusetts Gift Card Law

Gift cards are redeemable for cash after 90% of the value has been redeemed
Gift Cards
Heads up! ScripSmart attempts to make all information is accurate and up-to-date. ScripSmart is only a guideline and does not provide definitive statements of the law. If you have questions about the law's application to a particular case, direct them to a specialist.
Report an error

Gift Card Ratings by ScripSmart

Did you know? ScripSmart rates gift cards based on consumer friendliness. We makes it easy to find the best gift cards.
View Gift Card Ratings